1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you use proxies to leave positive reviews about your business?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by mqs1000, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    56
    I've been told that review sites will catch on to you leaving fake positive reviews and will take your business listing off the site. I'm assuming they do this by IP address? In that case, can you use different proxies to leave positive reviews? Or are they on to that as well?
     
  2. Blakester

    Blakester Power Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    840
    Location:
    In front of my pc
    it really depends on the network's "security" itself. but I don't think it would be easy to get caught if you use lots of proxies.
    why don't you create some review sites yourself and rank some brand keywords for profit? just some food for thought
     
  3. accelerator_dd

    accelerator_dd Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    1,005
    Occupation:
    SEO
    Location:
    IM Wonderland
    And if you are using proxies - socks proxies set up system wide instead of the browser alone.
     
  4. innozemec

    innozemec Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5,288
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    www.Indexification.com
    Home Page:
    yes for sure you can use proxies/vpn and you can do just fine, unless you start leaving some footprint or overdoing your reviews and that get noticed. Just play smart and safe and you should be fine
     
  5. slybear

    slybear Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    34
    Occupation:
    Speculator
    Location:
    In The Cloud
    Thought this might be a good place to repeat this question;

    I want to join forums such as http://www.health-forums.com/diet/ under 20 or so names using multiple gmail accounts and proxies. When I buy the gmail accounts does it matter if they are fresh or aged? Which type of proxies do I buy and is it obvious how to use them with Buzzbundle or similar software? Do I need a seperate proxy for each email or is there a ration of one proxy for five or eight emails that makes more sense?

    Is there an easier way to have my opinion keep reappering under different names?

    Thanks.
     
  6. slybear

    slybear Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    34
    Occupation:
    Speculator
    Location:
    In The Cloud
    Anybody?

     
  7. dinkish

    dinkish Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    159
    1 proxy = 1 account.

    Keep track of what proxy you use for which email address\account and don't re-use them for different accounts.

    It'd be a real waste of time if you started and went to all that effort and expense and then mixed up IP's and were getting accounts banned\threads removed.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. jakekelly

    jakekelly Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    24
    Why not just pay different people $5 each on Fiverr, Odesk, or wherever for each review? They don't even have to know if the reviews are real. Just tell them you have a review from a customer, and pay them $5 or whatever amount to post each review from you.
     
  9. slybear

    slybear Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    34
    Occupation:
    Speculator
    Location:
    In The Cloud
    Thanks, dinkish.
     
  10. dinkish

    dinkish Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    159
    I wouldn't use a fiverr gig if you expect longevity. Anyone being paid to do reviews in bulk will likely get caught from even verified accounts and best case scenario the review you paid for would be removed as well.
     
  11. slybear

    slybear Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    34
    Occupation:
    Speculator
    Location:
    In The Cloud
    Will they get caught because at that price they are just sloppy?

     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. wasuki

    wasuki Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    45
    Occupation:
    Blogger and offsite optimization expert
    Location:
    Houston
    Home Page:
    you should use 1 proxy per account and ensure that you dont overdo the reviews. However VPN might still be a better option with proxies the chances of getting caught are a little higher.