1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Business review sites questions

Discussion in 'Local SEO' started by accessted, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. accessted

    accessted Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    50
    I have a question on reviews for your local business. If we get someone to leave reviews on sites like brownbook, super pages, YP, Yellow pages, city search and directories like that is it ok for someone in another country to leave reviews? I mean does the ip play a role like in G+ ? I know with G+ that would be a flag, but what about these other sites?

    Also on another note.. does anyone have a better way to get real reviews for their customers? Almost all my customers are %100 satisfied and I tell them to leave a reviews and about maybe 1 in 500 will actually do it.. Any cool creative ways to get them to do it?

    Like on Angies list I give %10 OFF.. I tell them to wite a review and almost all of them say NO problem, but never do. Should I say... IF you leave me a review I will send you 10% back or something like that?

    What are you other guys doing for this? (especially for G+)

    Thanks
     
  2. c4rtel

    c4rtel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Pool of Butter
    1) Find fellow business owner.

    2) Bring up the review topic.

    3) Reviews drive business etc.

    4) Ask for review.

    5) Kiss and goodbye.
     
  3. accessted

    accessted Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    50
    Before we kiss should we hug :)

    So if we get business owners from different states will that matter? With the ip address being different?
     
  4. mikestern

    mikestern Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    5
    just get a proxy and do your thing...
    for this certain citations u mention above u dont even need a dedicated ips...any shared VPN will do the job.
     
  5. MarioCimmino

    MarioCimmino Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Home Page:
    On Yelp I know that they take a couple factors into account.. IP is one of them, with account age being the other. Google+ would be very similar.
     
  6. Magic5

    Magic5 BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    83
    Theres no way you could do an exchange on yelp that site is nutty when it comes to ip's
     
  7. Techxan

    Techxan Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    3,585
    Occupation:
    Local SEOist
    Location:
    TEXAS (you have to yell, its the law.)
    You need legitimate reviews for your bussiness from the local area.

    Build something like this for your customer:
    http://www.apexoffers.com/repman/

    Make it work for phones, and create a QR code for the site.

    When you have a satisfied customer, tell them please leave a review, if they say yes, hand them the card with the QR code, let them scan it with their phone, and it will take them to the review portal so they can leave a review. Be sure to put the URL on the card in case they want to do it later.

    I usualy tell my customers to simply say, "If you think our service was superb, do you mind leaning us a review? Lately business reviews help us a lot with our online marketing, and I would sure appreciate it."

    If they say yes, have them scan the QR code, it will take them to the review portal, and they can do the review with you watching. (this is a way to indirectly pressure them to leave a good review. They said they would, and the scanned the qr code, so they are right there ready to leave a review. Since you are watching, often they will do it right then.

    Be careful giving out incentives for reviews, its a no no, do that after the review is made.

    "Hey, thanks for doing that, I am going to discount this purchase by 10% in appreciation."

    Works very well when done naturally, and you provide good service.

    I am having a WP plugin made to do this with, let me know if you want to test it out when it is ready.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. accessted

    accessted Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    50
    Yes I would like to test it out..

    On your link above how do I get that built? Also could I add more/different review platforms?

    Thanks
     
  9. ORM

    ORM Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    675
    Location:
    wealth mastery
    Its not that simple then it comes to gaming Yelp filter. They takes a lot factors in to the account: traffic received, time-frame etc.
     
  10. wisdomkid

    wisdomkid Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    750
    You can use shared hosting.. It works wonders. I have been using them and they're great. But you can still contact as many persons or use your friends computers and leave useful reviews.
     
  11. Techxan

    Techxan Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    3,585
    Occupation:
    Local SEOist
    Location:
    TEXAS (you have to yell, its the law.)
    The version I showed you is a derivative of the one in 7878's method on ORM (I think).

    It is in HTML, and not responsive. I can build it for your company if you want (for a nominal fee), or you can wait for the plugin.

    Anyway I believe it was a WSO. I redid the original because it was too cartoonish, and I am having the plugin made to do the same thing but match the sites theme it is installed on instead of looking like that one does.

    In the plugin you will be able to add any sites you want to get reviews on, but only 4 of them will display at a time. You just chose the ones you want to display.


     
  12. accessted

    accessted Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    50

    Great. I will wait.. how long till you make it?
     
  13. nameless7

    nameless7 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    28
    You can offer coupons or some extra options for those who live their reviews.
     
  14. Techxan

    Techxan Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    3,585
    Occupation:
    Local SEOist
    Location:
    TEXAS (you have to yell, its the law.)
    They are coding now, I expect to have it in a week or so.
     
  15. PayJayNow

    PayJayNow Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would love to try the plugin. Please send me info on it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Techxan

    Techxan Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    3,585
    Occupation:
    Local SEOist
    Location:
    TEXAS (you have to yell, its the law.)
    will do .
     
  17. jeewatram

    jeewatram Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    SEO Marketing Manager
    Location:
    Karachi
    Home Page:
    Well in nowadays many business owners are focusing there local areas by citation listing, Review is very generic & little bit technical issue, I saw some SEO's have 10 to 20 accounts at Yelp and he using for reviews, which is not real because I know that.

    If you want to focus completely by your real customers then you're doing perfect job, make good service for your customers they will wrote review about your project & use some pages links in the content such as " Review our Services" or something like this, as you feel better.
     
  18. behemothseo

    behemothseo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    15
    Offer them something in exchange for the review. If what you're offering is appealing enough, you will ALWAYS get the review. Has worked pretty well for me.
     
  19. SkylerJarman

    SkylerJarman Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    "Google My Business" Expert
    Location:
    USA, Utah
    You never want to hire/fake reviews. Provide quality services and you do not have to worry about reviews coming in. Some directory websites do bring IP into factor. A lot of directory websites tie into each other and feed information to each other. It isn't very hard to see the IP isn't local.

    Honestly, reviews help with credibility they don't do much for ranking. Don't misinterpret what I am saying. Reviews are still important. Having multiple reviews in different directory listings is a very good thing. LEGIT reviews though.
     
  20. jasmeencress

    jasmeencress Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    interesting topic. but other comments are also wide the topic. i also searching for this topic