Amazon free products for reviews question

oatmeal

Senior Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
881
Reaction score
466
So I have a foot in the ebay, youtube, tiktok, and facebook platforms. I'm also making a little now in Amazon affiliates.
I am interested in doing more amazon reviews since I am getting contacted a lot by some sellers.

It seems that once you get on their radar, they share the word around with their fellow buddies and soon many of them
contact you almost weekly about testing out their new product and once you leave 5 star review you get a full refund.

I've done this already for about 6-7 products valued at over $1k in total and they have all been refunded to me so it's not
a scam. The thing is, I noticed that Amazon is also cracking down on this and they are flagging certain products or sellers
that seem to have unusual activity (maybe too many 5 star reviews or maybe the reviewers have too many of their products
reviewed in a short time?).

Basically if you can keep doing it without getting flagged, you can get free products and just resell them yourself locally to make
good money it seems.

Anyone else doing this method and have you experience any problems if you order too much and review too much of the same
type of product 5 stars? I'm concerned they might flag my account so I try to mix up my reviews with my other normal products
I purchase so it's not all the same items and same seller I am leaving 5 star reviews for.
 

ukbilla

Registered Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2014
Messages
60
Reaction score
17
Amazon are cracking down on this, ive heard buyers getting banned on Amazon, plus the review gets taken down

I used to review stuff, not any more though
 

oatmeal

Senior Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
881
Reaction score
466
Amazon are cracking down on this, ive heard buyers getting banned on Amazon, plus the review gets taken down

I used to review stuff, not any more though
Can you tell me how they are cracking down on this? How can they determine who is giving legit 5 stars and who is not?
 

ukbilla

Registered Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2014
Messages
60
Reaction score
17
Can you tell me how they are cracking down on this? How can they determine who is giving legit 5 stars and who is not?
I dont know exactly how they find out, but i guess its simply seeing 100% 5 star reviews on your account that gives it away
 

Paniser

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
111
Reaction score
28
I tried it but my amazon account got banned and I can't do reviews again :anyway:
 

oatmeal

Senior Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
881
Reaction score
466
I tried it but my amazon account got banned and I can't do reviews again :anyway:
Can you elaborate? How many reviews did you do in what time span? Were they all for the same seller or same niche? What was the message Amazon sent you when your account got banned? Did they actually tell you that was the reason or you are just assuming you got banned for posting fake reviews to give seller 5 stars for free products?
 

Paniser

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
111
Reaction score
28
Can you elaborate? How many reviews did you do in what time span? Were they all for the same seller or same niche? What was the message Amazon sent you when your account got banned? Did they actually tell you that was the reason or you are just assuming you got banned for posting fake reviews to give seller 5 stars for free products?
1- Like 8 reviews in 2 months.
2- Electronics niche, not the same seller
3- I did not receive any messages, I simply went to review and the button was gray, I do not remember exactly if there was any message. Also all my previous 5 star reviews were deleted.

That was 1 year ago and I haven't tested if I can do it now or not
 

oatmeal

Senior Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
881
Reaction score
466
1- Like 8 reviews in 2 months.
2- Electronics niche, not the same seller
3- I did not receive any messages, I simply went to review and the button was gray, I do not remember exactly if there was any message. Also all my previous 5 star reviews were deleted.

That was 1 year ago and I haven't tested if I can do it now or not
Wow! That's not a lot of reviews at all for 2 months plus not the same seller. How on earth did Amazon just assume you were putting up fake reviews for free products? Was it the way you worded your reviews? Were they all copy and pasted the same? Or did you actually write unique and distinct reviews with details. In my reviews, I always upload a video clip, upload photos of me opening the box and showing the product and it's not like I'm really lying either. I do say things that I like about it and even point out a couple things I found could be improved but overall always say that for the price point you get a really good value and highly recommend it with 5 stars.

So far I haven't been warned or revoked from reviewing but I did notice one of the products I tried to leave a review for said that there was suspicious activity with this product and the reviews so they blocked it from being reviewed unless it was a "verified purchase" review which I don't know what that means.
 
Top