1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amazon Affiliate Site - How many reviews to $90/day?

Discussion in 'White Hat SEO' started by Dayspring, Dec 17, 2014.

  1. Dayspring

    Dayspring Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    I know. That's a bit of a stupid question and ignores several factors like what niche I'm in, conversion rate, what price items I review, backlinks, and so much more. I'm just trying to create a realistic timeframe to achieve my overall goals. Once a certain amount of work is complete on my Amazon authority site, I plan on diverting some work time to other projects so I can focus on hitting those goals.

    So sorry for asking a dumb question, but assuming I build a good site loaded with high-quality articles and strong on-site SEO, how many reviews would you suggest I write for that site to hit an average of $90/day? Basically, if you were building a WhiteHat Amazon site from scratch, what "sweet spot" number of reviews/articles would you be shooting for in order to hit that monetary amount?

    Thanks for your time, opinions and advice,

    -Dayspring
     
  2. GauravShinde

    GauravShinde Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    It depends upon the product, the traffic it receives and its conversion rates. If its a popular product and you rank high enough, a single review would be more than sufficient. But if you lack rankings, then you may want to go for hundreds of low competition reviews.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Dayspring

    Dayspring Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok, thanks for the input! I have a feeling I'll be around 100-200 then, as the rankings will be significantly lacking at first.
     
  4. Etranger

    Etranger Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah, there's really no magic number. I can give you some stats from my own site, however. I have two primary reviews that bring in about $50 per month on average. This is mostly due to luck in stumbling upon them, and building a handful of high quality backlinks to the site.

    Remember, as long as you get them to Amazon, they'll buy a bunch of other random stuff, so keep that in mind.

    Make the reviews as long as possible. 1000 to 2000 words is best. Google loves that delicious, meaty content.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Dayspring

    Dayspring Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    That's fantastic to hear! Congrats!

    I read a few studies that back up what you're saying on word counts. One said "at least 1,000" and another said "over 1,200" while the third one, which was much more in-depth, claimed exactly 1,600 words was the best. However, all three also said that adding pictures and videos can supplement the word count a bit. My goal was to have pictures, tables/charts and an embedded Youtube video with each review. I worry that the niche might get repetitive-sounding reviews if I push for over 700 words each and every time. How many do you suggest I shoot for if I include the non-word content I just listed? I don't want to risk overwhelming the reader with content or boring them with any fluff, either.
     
  6. erickishere

    erickishere Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  7. Dayspring

    Dayspring Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    GREAT find! Thanks for sharing. That's basically what I had in mind, only I intended on making what he refers to as 500-word filler articles more valuable to the reader. Very good to know that my planned model not only works, but works very well.

    Thanks again,

    -Dayspring
     
  8. ChampionSEOer

    ChampionSEOer Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do proper keyword research and write good quality reviews for low competition, good search volume product reviews. You should also be initially looking at your monthly figures.