1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Few Tips Reputation Management (ripoff report, complaints board)

Discussion in 'White Hat SEO' started by SEOjebus, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. SEOjebus

    SEOjebus Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    12
    My competitors have ramped it up and are relentlessly posting fake complaints on the major sites ripoffreport and complaintsboard. Just wanted to share some tips even if this is being rehashed.

    If you are a one-man operation, maintaining your reputation can be difficult and very time consuming. The theory I have to maintain your reputation and keep ripoff reports on the second or third page on g00gle is to create a few sites and accounts (20-30 sites) and schedule updates on a regular basis. Ripoff Reports may be posted at least every week by your competitor, so you have to keep your content fresh to keep up.



    PUMP OUT SOME SITES AND CONTENT

    1. Buy up all the domains with the name of your business - for example (fakebusiness.com fake-business.com, fakebusiness.net, fakebusiness.org, etc.) Create sites on these new domains with words like "review, rating, testimonials, etc." in the title and add content that repeats the name of your main site. If you have customer testimonials, place them on these sites as well.

    2. Create a subdomain on your main site - ex(news.fakebusiness.com). Google often picks these up and will display the subdomain on the front page along with your main domain. Keep this content fresh with news or blog content.

    3. Create accounts on major social networking sites - ex. myspace, facebook, squidoo, wordpress, blogger, xanga, etc. There is a forum post here on BHW called "List of Over 750 Social Bookmarking Sites" that has a good healthy list. Also search Google for "Web 2.0 sites" as well to get some of the cream of the crop.

    4. Post Craigslist Ads Everywhere - Craigslist gets spidered quickly by g00gle. Be sure to include your company name in the title and in header tags throughout the text.

    5. Create Press Releases - Create a press release about something in your industry or some upcoming news regarding the industry. By creating quality press releases for PRWeb or something similar, your story may get syndicated, and you will be all over the internet on news sites and industry blogs. I have about 4-5 good links on the top 2 pages when searching my company.

    6. Respond to complaints quickly - Show that the complaint is fake and show your credentials, like ratings with the BBB and what not. Don't use your company name in the complaint to decrease the keyword density. If you fail to monitor these complaints and respond quickly, you're only going to give the complaint some new content later down the road that will boost it's g00gle rank after being stale for a while.



    SCHEDULE CONTENT UPDATES

    So, you have a good amount of sites gathered and they are starting to get indexed. That's half the battle. Now you must schedule your blogs, news, social networking accounts, and post CL ads on a regular basis.

    Do not copy text from one site to another. Create fresh content, run it through a translator, do anything but post duplicate content.

    Update according to schedule at least every week. You can target different sites on each day of the week. Posting CL ads can be done every day in different locations.

    Anyways, if there is anything anyone would like to add or point out, let me know. This is my first contribution.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 9
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2009
  2. scubaslick

    scubaslick Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    512
    Don't forget to pepper some youtube videos and images out there. They also can knock ROR down a peg. Handy stuff like a How To video using your product, with your company name for your youtube account will show up quickly and stay there.

    Also, don't be afraid to go out and ask for some links from other prominent sites in your niche. It can't hurt.

    Build a blog and give some outbound link love to others related to your niche. They might just respond in kind.

    ROR sucks.

    Oh, and don't forget to post some nasty shit about your competitor's site on ROR in return for their kindness to you.
     
  3. hi.imandrew

    hi.imandrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    i HAD finally outdid ROR and a few other sites! this morning it was all BEAUTIFUL!!!! now its all over the place again! idk what im going to do! i need some SERIOUS help! any more pointers?
     
  4. RepGuru

    RepGuru Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    9
    We can remove/delete a lot of these sites (not ROR sorry), but if you are having problems with almost any of the other consumer advocacy sites PM me we can get most posts deleted completely.
     
  5. flexnds

    flexnds Power Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    680
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketing, Web development, Internet Repu
    Location:
    AZ
    Responding on sites like ROR and Complaints board is the worst thing you can do. You are just adding fresh and new content and giving G more reason to rank it. Do not respond to anything on those sites. Also, what you have listed is a very very slight fraction what you can do with IRM.
     
  6. nightshade787

    nightshade787 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yeah, you should never not try to defend yourself in ROR or other public forums with your company name. It will make them just stick harder.
     
  7. weruncompanies

    weruncompanies Power Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    California, USA
    In the process of doing this. Thanks for the info!
     
  8. weruncompanies

    weruncompanies Power Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    California, USA
    Also watch out for forums and message boards they index pages very well. And can be pretty much permanent. I've found a few from over 5+ years ago with just a bad review but over time it was enough to rank.

    The best way to get around that, is to contact the advertising department on the forum, ask for rates, etc. Then tell them no business without getting that thread removed first. Then you can buy or tell them later and not come through with advertising. But it's best to be honest.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. blackhatchampion

    blackhatchampion Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    550
    Location:
    Earth
    I am looking for more details in Online Reputation Management.
     
  10. akashkumar

    akashkumar Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try magic traffic bot
     
  11. grantrux

    grantrux Power Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    156
    I agree. I work on a very reputable client back in the early days of my career. They had a post on the moneysavingexpert website that has an extremely negative review. Which was genuinely the only bad review they had ever had.

    I followed all the steps above but the moneysavingexpert post was stuck like glue. In the end we just sent them the facts and they happily took the post down.

     
  12. MNSaluki

    MNSaluki Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    I dont have 15 posts, but need assistance in removing complaints from 800 Notes and WhoCallsMe. Can you PM me?
     
  13. studmoss

    studmoss Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi I have some complaints board comments I need deleted? Can you help ASAP?