1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In-Store Google+ Reviews

Discussion in 'Offline Marketing' started by xstumpedx, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. xstumpedx

    xstumpedx Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    42
    Occupation:
    The Internet
    Location:
    NY
    I would like to setup a computer within my client's store so that customers can login into their Gmail account and leave a positive review for a promo gift.

    Would Google shake its head on this?

    Since the customers are logging into their account, I would assume that Google can see that these are not spam reviews....they would all just be coming from the same IP and that's what I'm hesitant on.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. healzer

    healzer Jr. Executive VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,329
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Conversion Rate Optimization
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    Home Page:
    same IP = looks fake = fail
    :)

    it's google, not human
     
  3. xstumpedx

    xstumpedx Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    42
    Occupation:
    The Internet
    Location:
    NY
    Yes, but don't they have a history of their Gmail accounts? Such as age, home IP, etc..
     
  4. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38
    I agree that the same IP would automatically make it a bad idea. On top of that, if you do it that way you are telling your client "here's how you can do this without my help" and you don't want that.


    If you want to set up a laptop so they can type their reviews and you collect them and get them posted I think that would be better.


    As for a promotion in exchange of the review, Google (and many other businesses/people) frown upon that too. I can hear the competitor now saying "Don't believe my competitors good reviews because they give gifts in exchange for positive ones".


    Just some thoughts.
     
  5. xstumpedx

    xstumpedx Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    42
    Occupation:
    The Internet
    Location:
    NY
    Thanks for your input, good points! I'm having a hard time figuring out how to increase reviews without creating fake ones.

    How would I go about posting the reviews I collect without being flagged?
     
  6. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38

    I can help. I think that if you make it really easy for people to leave reviews they will do it. Even if it's on a sheet of paper at the place of business so you can collect it later I think people will do it if asked. Where it's a problem is asking them to go home and do it...they lose interest I would guess. I've been trying to figure this out for a while too, and I think old-fashioned asking nicely will probably be a great way to get reviews.


    For posting them, there are services like this one: http://www.glowingreviews.co/


    For a pretty small monthly fee (tiered system based on the amount of clients you have) they will post for you from IP's all over the place. I haven't tried it yet, but it seems fairly legit.
     
  7. xstumpedx

    xstumpedx Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    42
    Occupation:
    The Internet
    Location:
    NY
    Now if the company is located in New York and the review comes from an IP address in California or some other state, that could be an issue.

    I'm wondering if they use IPs that are located in the general location of the company.
     
  8. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38


    Yea, I thought of that but I have a theory. I know that a lot of reviews from the same IP wouldn't look good and most of them probably wouldn't stick. There is no way to argue that one, because your only explanation would be something like "I have a lot of people at my house using my computer" which isn't going to work.


    And if the IP's are from different areas it could look fishy I suppose because those IP's aren't in the same city as the business. But at some point these filters that Google uses can't do the thinking of a human being. And as a human I can simply say that maybe someone has a vacation house in another city, or they moved or any number of things that in my opinion a filter couldn't really be the judge of.


    That's my take on it anyway.
     
  9. xstumpedx

    xstumpedx Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    42
    Occupation:
    The Internet
    Location:
    NY
    I guess there is only one way to find out lol