What do you think about video testimonials?

 

Results 1 to 22 of 22
I have a product that is a very high priced ticket product. I was thinking ...
  1. #1
    jon_xx_x is offline Elite Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2,491
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 1,173 Times in 515 Posts

    Default What do you think about video testimonials?

    I have a product that is a very high priced ticket product. I was thinking about getting video testimonials made, as the product is kinda directed towards average joes, possibly not internet savvy.
    Personally, I see video testimonials and they look fake as hell, and I put zero value in them. However, I (we) am a marketer,and I obviously see the fakeness to it.
    How many of you guys use them? Do you think the average person sees them as having value? Or do you think they seem fake to everyone.




  2. #2
    IamNRE's Avatar
    IamNRE is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4,110
    Thanks
    4,005
    Thanked 6,120 Times in 2,156 Posts
    Blog Entries
    17

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    I feel the same way, they seem unnatural. I mean who really ever decides to leave a genuine review by video.... :/

    Personally I would go without them first.... and then split test with video later.

  3. #3
    myhomestartup's Avatar
    myhomestartup is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    424
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 166 Times in 105 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    People connect with people.
    Connection leads to sales.

    It is very difficult to connect with a page of text and images, but seemingly real footage of someone is a great connectivity tool.

  4. #4
    sirgold's Avatar
    sirgold is offline Supreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    A hot one
    Posts
    1,253
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 600 Times in 402 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    I personally value them Z E R O for the valid reasons already posted here, but the average joe might not put a lot of thought into the mental shenanigans that ultimately led some dude to make a video testimonial about some product, ESPECIALLY if the prospect is desperately looking for an excuse, any excuse to buy that product... I also honestly think the perceived value of the video varies significantly depending on the price bracket and specific niche of the product you're promoting... Bottom line is: to me it never really hurts to do some video testimonials when you need to make a launch, worst case scenario: they'll be neglected since there's no way even for a smart prospect to really tell if they're genuine or not..

  5. #5
    RealEcon's Avatar
    RealEcon is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 75 Times in 60 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    I think they work if you have a person talking about gardening and they are out in the garden and then they walk over to their (high ticket priced rotor-tiller) and start saying how it has helped them dig the dirt like never before etc. And that they got a good deal on it at such and such a place that they just so conveniently link to in the description area.

    Thats realistic.

    A chick from fiverr sitting in front of her computer talking about how she loves gardening with her rotor-tiller....not so much:-)

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to RealEcon For This Useful Post:

    hexis (04-25-2013)

  7. #6
    Panther28's Avatar
    Panther28 is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Internet.
    Posts
    1,702
    Thanks
    2,236
    Thanked 2,404 Times in 1,124 Posts
    Blog Entries
    147

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    Try and get someone who looks good at sales, or works in a relevant store, then just corner them somewhere in the store with your video camera, and get them to answer your list of questions while holding your product. It will look like its actually getting stocked in shops, and look like your actually speaking to the manger, of that store.

    You'll have to edit the video so your voice comes out of it, and the person is answering just the questions. Then get a nice girls voice to introduce each of the questions.


  8. #7
    Ricky Roma's Avatar
    Ricky Roma is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    225
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 309 Times in 106 Posts
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    This reminds me of video fellow member got from fiverr:

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Ricky Roma For This Useful Post:

    RealEcon (04-26-2013)

  10. #8
    stevepmale is offline Registered Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    I think it really depends on how you frame them. I find the professional looking testimonials always smell of BS. But if it's done on a webcam and you frame it as user submissions uploaded to your products youtube page etc... they can be quite effective. Also you can repurpose them for other channels other then your join page.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to stevepmale For This Useful Post:

    IamNRE (04-26-2013)

  12. #9
    WizGizmo's Avatar
    WizGizmo is offline Super Moderator black hat forumsblack hat forumsblack hat forumsblack hat forums
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,714
    Thanks
    5,857
    Thanked 51,083 Times in 5,638 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    Just take a look at the late night Infomercials. They almost ALWAYS use
    video testimonials. They must be working or they wouldn't use them.

    Cheers! - "Wiz"

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to WizGizmo For This Useful Post:

    IamNRE (04-26-2013)

  14. #10
    jon_xx_x is offline Elite Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2,491
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 1,173 Times in 515 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    Touche.

    Thanks for all the replies.
    If I can get some legit looking ones, I think I will use them.

  15. #11
    DHSellerUK's Avatar
    DHSellerUK is offline Banned - see signature
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 212 Times in 64 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    dated but good if you can optimise the videos meta data on your site so you get a video SERP result in google, makes it bigger and juicier than a normal result.
    This member has been permanently banned from BHW.

  16. #12
    Panther28's Avatar
    Panther28 is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Internet.
    Posts
    1,702
    Thanks
    2,236
    Thanked 2,404 Times in 1,124 Posts
    Blog Entries
    147

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricky Roma View Post
    This reminds me of video fellow member got from fiverr:
    The way that girl says www. is the best! But yeah, probably the worst testimonial ever

  17. #13
    DHSellerUK's Avatar
    DHSellerUK is offline Banned - see signature
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 212 Times in 64 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    Quote Originally Posted by Panther28 View Post
    The way that girl says www. is the best! But yeah, probably the worst testimonial ever
    This member has been permanently banned from BHW.

  18. #14
    RealEcon's Avatar
    RealEcon is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 75 Times in 60 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?


  19. The Following User Says Thank You to RealEcon For This Useful Post:

    DHSellerUK (04-26-2013)

  20. #15
    greatpvas's Avatar
    greatpvas is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    156
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 66 Times in 20 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    I have to say that video testimonials have now been abused so much that I will very rarely believe anything I hear in a video review like that. Whenever I see one of those testimonials now I just automatically think fiverr. I would probably give more weight to a written testimonial than video. That's just my opinion though.

  21. #16
    hpv222 is offline Power Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    707
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 260 Times in 183 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    Quote Originally Posted by RealEcon View Post
    I think they work if you have a person talking about gardening and they are out in the garden and then they walk over to their (high ticket priced rotor-tiller) and start saying how it has helped them dig the dirt like never before etc. And that they got a good deal on it at such and such a place that they just so conveniently link to in the description area.

    Thats realistic.

    A chick from fiverr sitting in front of her computer talking about how she loves gardening with her rotor-tiller....not so much:-)
    Well said - when buying a new high-end mouse or new digital camera, I would totally watch a guy unwrapping his mouse / camera and sharing his first impressions. On the other hand, watching a guy in $12 suite and $3.50 tie talking about making ten thousand dollars per day, yeah right....

  22. #17
    omnipotent$'s Avatar
    omnipotent$ is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    494
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 233 Times in 76 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    Videos work period. They allow the customer to imagine themselves using the product and gaining a benefit from it. Much better form of persuasion than reading long text.

    The day people quit buying from infomercials is the day video testimonials can be officially deemed dead.

  23. #18
    jon_xx_x is offline Elite Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2,491
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 1,173 Times in 515 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    Thanks again, really insightful opinion.
    It's hard as us marketers can smell bullshit from a mile away.
    Heck, I think even most average people can tell how cheesy the testimonials are on infomercials, but the infomercials still use them, and people still buy.

  24. #19
    sn0rt's Avatar
    sn0rt is offline Beast Affiliate Marketer
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    "Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough we must do"
    Posts
    1,732
    Thanks
    853
    Thanked 3,266 Times in 815 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    After you get a few reviews done, incentivize them.

    What do I mean?

    For example, buy a few "user submitted" looking reviews.

    After you have these reviews up, give new members/buyers/clients (whatever they are of yours) the opportunity to submit their own to you.

    Why would they submit a video review? Because you gave them some kind of an incentive to do so, maybe a discount, free bonus, tips, etc.. (your mind is the limit here).

    Then filter out what ever reviews you don't like, upload the ones you do.

    What if you don't get any video reviews submitted?

    Doesn't matter, because your new customer can see why users would submit video reviews to you and makes it all the more realistic. It's important though that these reviews don't look as if your customers were bribed to do them, but received a gift because they were so kind to do so.

    Win/Win/Win.

    best of luck to you.

  25. #20
    dotcomdesigns's Avatar
    dotcomdesigns is offline Power Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    644
    Thanks
    519
    Thanked 613 Times in 272 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    Like most of us I think video reviews are general BS. I use Amazon a lot to get reviews on stuff. Almost all their reviews are written although they are trying to push video reviews but there's not been much take up, not in the UK anyway.

    Having said that I was looking to buy a juicer and Youtube was fantastic for this. I felt a written wasn't enough and I wanted to see some machines in action. One guy had two machines alongside each other and compared them both juicing at the same time.

    He sold me one in just 5 minutes!

  26. #21
    Rednels is offline Newbies
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    They are pretty worthless. Customers usually don't trust them.

  27. #22
    cooltoad's Avatar
    cooltoad is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    On Vacation
    Posts
    941
    Thanks
    309
    Thanked 521 Times in 296 Posts

    Default Re: What do you think about video testimonials?

    Make the video grainy and the audio patchy if you go ahead making testimonials.

    cheers
    CT
    5. You may post 2-3 affiliate links or 1 banner (728x90 pixels max) in your signature. - GoldenGlovez


Similar Threads

  1. Video Testimonials
    By peterbruce in forum Social Networking Sites
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-08-2011, 06:32 PM
  2. Need video testimonials $10
    By skagenweb in forum Hire a Freelancer
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 10:49 AM
  3. Need Video Testimonials
    By bestfranchisebooks in forum Hire a Freelancer
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 08:45 PM
  4. Need Video Testimonials
    By eclecticnewyork in forum Hire a Freelancer
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-22-2008, 01:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




BlackHatWorld on Twitter BlackHatWorld on FaceBook


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108