Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

 

Results 1 to 19 of 19
Hello, to my situation: It seems that I got a DMCA complaint (or a cease-and-desist? ...
  1. #1
    pazocean's Avatar
    pazocean is offline Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts

    Default Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Hello,

    to my situation:
    It seems that I got a DMCA complaint (or a cease-and-desist? Both terms are equal right ?) via Cloudflare Abuse from a really big company (it's EA) saying that I use copyright pictures from a game.
    On my website I offer *cough* fake *cough* beta keys.
    I was using Cloudflare + offshore host whose server is located in Romania.
    For now, I blocked my website.

    So I wonder now what to do ?
    I dont even know if this DMCA complaint is legit because it was submitted via Cloudflare Abuse form so kinda everyone would be able to do it. But it seems very legit and I found a similar email sent to other websites as well who were doing copyright infrigement.

    So assuming that this is a legit DMCA by EA, what would you do now?
    The fact that I host in Romania makes me immortal against copyright infringement or what?
    Everyone says "only use offshore host" but even so after you got DMCA you just ignore, even from big companies?
    I think Im confused right now, I lose sight of why we should use offshore host.

    So again what would you do in my place?
    The Beta hasnt even started...meh. I can get rid of the pics thats not so big problem I guess although it will lower my earnings but well...and turning off cloudflare too?

    Give up or continue?

    Regards,
    pazocean
    Last edited by pazocean; 08-24-2013 at 02:33 PM.




  2. #2
    healzer's Avatar
    healzer is offline TheProblemSolver
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    void main() { while (1==1) { MakeMoney(); }}
    Posts
    1,690
    Thanks
    2,471
    Thanked 1,302 Times in 508 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    The server is not owned by you, but by your provider. Your provider will get in trouble, but since EA can't do much in Romania, you're safe, unless EA wants to DDoS you, but thats their problem.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to healzer For This Useful Post:

    pazocean (08-24-2013)

  4. #3
    pazocean's Avatar
    pazocean is offline Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by healzer View Post
    since EA can't do much in Romania
    OK I have to ask this question:
    Why is Romania claimed to be good offshore concerning DMCA?
    Is there any official source in internet where it is stated that Romania is not binded to DMCA?

  5. #4
    healzer's Avatar
    healzer is offline TheProblemSolver
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    void main() { while (1==1) { MakeMoney(); }}
    Posts
    1,690
    Thanks
    2,471
    Thanked 1,302 Times in 508 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by pazocean View Post
    OK I have to ask this question:
    Why is Romania claimed to be good offshore concerning DMCA?
    Is there any official source in internet where it is stated that Romania is not binded to DMCA?
    no of course not.
    but if someone wants you, they will get you, no matter the country.

  6. #5
    Murdoch1337 is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cool Kidz Club
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 83 Times in 61 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by pazocean View Post
    OK I have to ask this question:
    Why is Romania claimed to be good offshore concerning DMCA?
    Is there any official source in internet where it is stated that Romania is not binded to DMCA?
    From my experience, Romania is such a messed up and disfunctional country that most companies don't bother trying to go through the bureaucratic process there.


  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Murdoch1337 For This Useful Post:

    pazocean (08-24-2013)

  8. #6
    pazocean's Avatar
    pazocean is offline Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    So what would you do in my place?
    My idea is to remove pics and turning cloudflare off. The main problem is I guess this fake beta thing even though they didnt mention that in their email.
    That sucks....well next time I know what I have to do and not to do.

    Or just forget it?

    Btw.:
    Are people around here who also got DMCA complaint. It cant be that I am the only one right?
    What did you guys do then?
    Last edited by pazocean; 08-24-2013 at 02:58 PM.

  9. #7
    Ptrick125's Avatar
    Ptrick125 is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Near Austin, Texas
    Age
    15
    Posts
    413
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 101 Times in 77 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by pazocean View Post
    So what would you do in my place?
    My idea is to remove pics and turning cloudflare off. The main problem is I guess this fake beta thing even though they didnt mention that in their email.
    That sucks....well next time I know what I have to do and not to do.

    Or just forget it?

    Btw.:
    Are people around here who also got DMCA complaint. It cant be that I am the only one right?
    What did you guys do then?
    I got one from a game company also, just take the content down and move to a new domain with a different registration name. Being off-shore, you could ignore it if you think EA will just past by. Yes, it can be scary at first, but in reality it is not a big deal if you just take it down.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Ptrick125 For This Useful Post:

    pazocean (08-30-2013)

  11. #8
    kaylanewett's Avatar
    kaylanewett is online now Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 498 Times in 281 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    If you do anything like that, I would definitely fake the Whois info as many countries have copyright treaties with the US and UK. Be more careful next time and good luck.

  12. #9
    iglow's Avatar
    iglow is offline Elite Blackhatter
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,928
    Thanks
    297
    Thanked 823 Times in 249 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    nothig is DMCA safe. all u get is solwer DMCA + no showing ur data.

  13. #10
    Kingu Buraddorei's Avatar
    Kingu Buraddorei is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 49 Times in 35 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    If they're only complaining about the pictures just remove them and continue. You're offshore anyways so you don't have too much to worry about, unless they really want to take you down. What's your provider's policy on DMCA takedowns?

  14. #11
    noseo's Avatar
    noseo is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 112 Times in 64 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Screenshots of a video game in progress have been judged to be "fair use" when embedded in the context of another work. Since you are just selling beta keys (albeit fake ones), your business model doesn't really depend on infringing copyright. Seems like you could just clean up the copyright-offending portions of your site, if any, and let them try to come after you with other charges if they want.

  15. #12
    matsta's Avatar
    matsta is offline Section Mod in Training
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    526
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked 508 Times in 186 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Well your using Cloudflare. Cloudflare is a American company, therefore they have to abide by DMCA's. Since your using Cloudflare to cache your site, they can't actually see your site is hosted in Romania.

    So turn off your caching on Cloudflare, and then future complaints will go to your hosting provider in Romania. Being in Romania, they probably won't respond and most likely won't even forward you the complaint, so don't worry about that.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to matsta For This Useful Post:

    pazocean (08-30-2013)

  17. #13
    pazocean's Avatar
    pazocean is offline Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Thanks for all the answers.
    I will remove the pictures as many suggested which seem to infringe copyright and move along.
    Concerning Cloudflare, I try to turn off only caching and realize the caching without cloudflare.
    Turning cloudflare completely off, Im afraid that my site will be too slow and more insecure.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingu Buraddorei View Post
    [...] What's your provider's policy on DMCA takedowns?
    Policy is DMCA ignored completely and if they ever receive one, they just forward to the customer and customer can decide freely what to do.
    Hmm...Weird as I didnt get any forward email from my hosting provider because Cloudflare should have already forward the complaint to them.
    Seems they really dont care about that as I do.^^

  18. #14
    umerjutt00 is offline Banned - see signature
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Reputation: 99999
    Posts
    2,875
    Thanks
    579
    Thanked 1,400 Times in 867 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    I receive like 10-15 of them everyday. The best thing to do with them is to read them, have a laugh and delete those DMCA complaints. I have an offshore web hosting in Netherlands and I don't care about them.
    umerjutt00 is banned from BHW. The next time they will be able to access the site is Friday 19th September 2014 10:00 PM.

  19. #15
    tiger123's Avatar
    tiger123 is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Where do you live matters also. If you live in country like Romania ,Russia they cant do anything.
    But if your server is only in Romania and you live in US then you should care.
    Also from which company you registered your domain name ? If your domain registrar gave your contact details to them they can catch you if you live in US etc.
    Always check your country rules for copyrights.
    So just remove those images and be safe.

  20. #16
    Ptrick125's Avatar
    Ptrick125 is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Near Austin, Texas
    Age
    15
    Posts
    413
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 101 Times in 77 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by umerjutt00 View Post
    I receive like 10-15 of them everyday. The best thing to do with them is to read them, have a laugh and delete those DMCA complaints. I have an offshore web hosting in Netherlands and I don't care about them.
    What kind of site are you running?

    Posted via Topify using iPhone/iPad

  21. #17
    umerjutt00 is offline Banned - see signature
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Reputation: 99999
    Posts
    2,875
    Thanks
    579
    Thanked 1,400 Times in 867 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by Ptrick125 View Post
    What kind of site are you running?

    Posted via Topify using iPhone/iPad
    Warez site, games cracks and related stuff.
    umerjutt00 is banned from BHW. The next time they will be able to access the site is Friday 19th September 2014 10:00 PM.

  22. #18
    rohit09 is offline Newbies
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Alaska and Pakistan servers are grate. I get no RISK what so ever.

  23. #19
    jakarta is offline Newbies
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Offshore Host = 100% DMCA safe?...Got DMCA complaint

    Cloudflare always forward dcma complaint to your email if he get it . Just remove your CR picture .


Similar Threads

  1. Offshore Host that ignores Brein and DMCA
    By trancecommunity in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-21-2011, 08:07 PM
  2. DMCA complaint
    By Ed4252 in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 06:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




BlackHatWorld on Twitter BlackHatWorld on FaceBook


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108