Is this a scam?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dr_Scythe

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2011
Messages
281
Reaction score
213
Just wondering what you guys think.

Seems like a laundering scam but they have provided legit details as well.

Guy has approached me asking me if I can list items for his business selling home appliances.

He has provided me with the URL of their soon to be website. It is a .com.au website meaning it was registered with an Australian ABN/ACN. I looked up the ACN and it was registered 3 months ago and the name of the Company and website match up.

He sais he has reached limitations on his new ebay account and can't sell more than $5000/mo.

So he wants me to list the items, take the payment, take out my cut and forward the rest to them. Basically dropshipping for them.

Opinions?
 
His response to asking about that was he will handle anyone paying by bank deposit and forward my cut. I handle paypal transactions and withdraw money from paypal to my bank and then forward it to him.

Paypal in australia normally takes 3-5 days to withdraw funds so I couldn't transfer to him immediately and he said that was ok
 
cheers for the advice.

Just strange because I haven't been approached by anyone before who could present any sort of credentials. Or speak proper english :p
 
The saying goes, if it sounds too good to be true- it probably is
 
Hey. You need to be very careful. The whole thing does not look real.
 
same as you, in my kind of business i stay far away from this kind of people and everything goes well. You wont be victim of any chargeback, keep in mind 45 days...
 
yeah stay away...sometimes it takes weeks before the banks catch that his account really doesn't have the money.
 
I was going to say seems like a good idea, but I've just noticed oxonbeef saying that you should stay away and he knows what he's talking about, so follow his advice and stay away.
 
Total scam, never do things like this, you will end up bigtime out of pocket.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top