Black Hat Forum
Go Back   Black Hat Forum > BlackHatWorld Forum > The Shit List

The Shit List People and Companies to Stay away from! I've learned the world is full of shitty people, scam artists, crooks, robbers, cyber punks. Report them here so other people don't get taken!

Search
 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-20-2008, 03:31 AM
revax's Avatar
Jr. VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Activity: 24%
Longevity: 33%
Today: 0/5
Default "Would you like to buy the .org/.net version?" spam

Lately I keep getting these spam emails of that ask for $100+ to buy a .net/.org version of a .com domain I own. Sometimes it's the other way around, and they want to sell a .com version for a .net I own, and it goes on and on about saying ".coms are the best, most recognized, etc."

My domains are privacy protected, and I am still getting these messages, any way to stop this spam?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-20-2008, 04:16 AM
Jr. VIP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 461
Thanks: 39
Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
Activity: 24%
Longevity: 26%
Today: 0/5
Default Re: "Would you like to buy the .org/.net version?" spam

u could buy them?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-20-2008, 04:33 AM
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 169
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Activity: 0%
Longevity: 17%
Today: 0/5
Default Re: "Would you like to buy the .org/.net version?" spam

why not post one of those messages here with the headers? It could also be coming from your registrar...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-20-2008, 04:55 AM
revax's Avatar
Jr. VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Activity: 24%
Longevity: 33%
Today: 0/5
Default Re: "Would you like to buy the .org/.net version?" spam

No, it isn't coming from the registrar, I'm pretty sure that it is spam. The domain name in question is a throwaway one that I have, it is far from what you would consider a "premium" name.

Here is just one of the messages I've received:

Code:
from	<xxxxxx@upgradedaddresses.com>
to	"myemail@gmail.com" <myemail@gmail.com>
signed-by	upgradedaddresses.com

	
A couple of days ago I emailed you about the domain name
<mydomainname>.com . Since you own the .net or .org version of
the domain, I thought you'd want the preferred '.com' version.

If you're interested, please let me know or use the secure link
below to buy the domain as soon as possible otherwise I'll make
other plans with the domain.

Here's the Secure Link:

http://upgradedaddresses.com/buy.php?domain=<mydomainname>.com

Also, Here's the email I sent you a couple of days ago
in case you missed it....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2008, 05:02 AM
MaestroDelWeb's Avatar
Executive VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,023
Thanks: 54
Thanked 315 Times in 67 Posts
Activity: 33%
Longevity: 34%
Today: 0/5
Default Re: "Would you like to buy the .org/.net version?" spam

I've gotten tons of these over the years. If you don't want them just ignore them. The funny thing is most times you'll find these domains dropped after a few days from the original email and a lot of times you'll find the domain is available and they didn't even register it (kind of like they called your bluff). I've also found they hogged one of my hopeful domains for 2 years and they finally let it drop and I snatched it up.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


Add Your Link



Site protected by Firewall Script


Sitemap: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54