"Would you like to buy the .org/.net version?" spam

Status
Not open for further replies.

revax

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2007
Messages
127
Reaction score
15
Lately I keep getting these spam emails of that ask for $100+ to buy a .net/.org version of a .com domain I own. Sometimes it's the other way around, and they want to sell a .com version for a .net I own, and it goes on and on about saying ".coms are the best, most recognized, etc."

My domains are privacy protected, and I am still getting these messages, any way to stop this spam?
 
why not post one of those messages here with the headers? It could also be coming from your registrar...
 
No, it isn't coming from the registrar, I'm pretty sure that it is spam. The domain name in question is a throwaway one that I have, it is far from what you would consider a "premium" name.

Here is just one of the messages I've received:

Code:
from	<[email protected]>
to	"[email protected]" <[email protected]>
signed-by	upgradedaddresses.com

	
A couple of days ago I emailed you about the domain name
<mydomainname>.com . Since you own the .net or .org version of
the domain, I thought you'd want the preferred '.com' version.

If you're interested, please let me know or use the secure link
below to buy the domain as soon as possible otherwise I'll make
other plans with the domain.

Here's the Secure Link:

http://upgradedaddresses.com/buy.php?domain=<mydomainname>.com

Also, Here's the email I sent you a couple of days ago
in case you missed it....
 
I've gotten tons of these over the years. If you don't want them just ignore them. The funny thing is most times you'll find these domains dropped after a few days from the original email and a lot of times you'll find the domain is available and they didn't even register it (kind of like they called your bluff). I've also found they hogged one of my hopeful domains for 2 years and they finally let it drop and I snatched it up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top