In order to be able to work out a potential ROI for your client you will need some data. I think ROAS (same as ROI but stands for Return on advertising spend) is very important and alot of
SEO companies don't realise how important ROAS is for a client.
The only time I calculate ROAS is if the client himself has data for me to use. There's no point calculating an approximate ROI with guess work figures.
Normally, I demonstrate two things to an
SEO client.
1) How much he's saving from opting to carry out
SEO as opposed to PPC. How do you work this out?
From the nominated keywords, input them into Adword Tools and look at the estimated cost per click and traffic. Export them to CSV and calculate the TOTAL traffic and AVERAGE CPC (use the "=AVERAGE(cell:cell)"). Once you have these figures, multiply TOTAL Traffic by 0.1 (10% Click Through Rate), and then multiply by AVERAGE CPC. This will tell them how much traffic they would gain on average, and what the cost would be. I've used 10% CTR in this instance as a rough figure. CTR will vary depending on where you are positioned, whether you're an e-commerce site or not, how good your ad copy is, and a few other things - if you want more info on this, google it - there's tons of info surrounding how to improve CTR or what average CTR's are)
One I calculated earlier for 10 keywords it would work out to just over 5000 visits per month at a cost of roughly $32,000.
That's alot of money for 5000 visitors to their website, it would seem. The next thing is to work out the lifetime value of a customer in their industry. To save time, let's just say the lifetime value of a customer is $100.
Final thing we need to work out is conversion rate. Again if you don't have data, look at the averages for their industry or make an educated guess. Conversion rates can vary between 1 - 12%. Of course they can be higher but this is the normal bracket.
So, now what we need to do is multiply 5000 x .12 x 100 = 60,000. This would mean that from an investment of 32,000 in PPC the customer would gain :
((60,000 - 32,000)/ 32,000) x 100 = 87.5% ROI
So they know by carrying out PPC they will get an approximate return of 87.5% (providing things are done properly).
Let's do it for
SEO...
Same 10 Keywords, Same everything only that
SEO Spend will be far lower and it will take more time i.e it is not instantaneous. Lets say for 10 keywords for a moderately competitive market where we need to carry out 1 time onsite optimisation which costs $1000 in month 1, we also need to setup Social Media sites and carry out some Social Media Marketing (since Social Media plays a significant role in
SEO and has been included as a ranking signal) - this costs us $1000 to setup, and we also decide to allocate about $3000 (overkill if you're using grayhat methods for linkbuilding) for linkbuilding for 10 keywords. Means they are spending 5000 Month 1, and then 3000 thereafter. We work out the average spend across a 12 month campaign ((5000 + (3000 x 11))/12 = 3167 dollars basically.
So we now assume that it will take roughly 6 Months to rank for those 10 keywords top 3 (providing you know your shit) which means that there will be a gradual increase in traffic throughout (if you're doing your job right) and at month 6 we get a 25% CTR (according to the enquiro heatmap study if you're at the top of the golden triangle) of 50000 visits which is basically 12500 a month(10% CTR of 50,000 visits is 5000 visits a month for the PPC calculation earlier). Fact of the matter is, CTR is higher in Organic results so this should be made clear to them when you are explaining or if they ask. Normally they will ask for a clarification of why it is higher.
12500 visits x $100 x .12% = $150,000 (wait for it)
To make it fair if you now divide month 6 cost by the revenue you will get a ridiculously high ROI, so the best thing to do here is to factor in whatever it cost to get the client there. So the logical thing to do is to multiply the average monthly cost of the
SEO by the amount of time you anticipate it will take them to rank. Here you can also tell them that there will be a gradual increase in traffic but you have completely overlooked the revenue they will earn from this gradual monthly increase in traffic.
SO ROI FOR
SEO IS: (($150,000 - $19,000) /$19,000) x 100 = 689.5% ROI.
Pretty darn good ROI if you ask me....Where do I sign??
Anyway sorry if some of it doesn't make sense. This is definitely a good way to indicate what kind of ROI the client should be expecting.
The only figures you might have trouble obtaining are the Conversion rate average for the sector or their business, and the customer lifetime value. If it so happens that this data is not available then think about it logically and make an educated guess, and don't over compensate ever. Real ROI's of 2000+ have been achieved by some through
SEO depending on their sector but anything lower than 300 and I'd consider re-evaluating how you worked it out.
Anyway hope this helps. Although Taktikal has been most helpful with all the information he's provided (and motivated me to market my online marketing services more) I think his explanation on ROI was a little lacking and felt a more comprehensive one would be useful to all of you who will soon (fingers crossed) be in contact with prospective clients who I believe will ask you shit like what will the ROI be on the Services you are offering them.
Good luck guys.
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