Black Hat Forum
Go Back   Black Hat Forum > BlackHatWorld > BlackHat Lounge

BlackHat Lounge What’s been on your mind lately? Maybe you've come across a website that made you laugh. Almost anything goes here!

Search
 
Do NOT buy anything from MASS PM Messages Asking you to buy IMA Products YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!! (If you have REFUND IMMEDIATELY)
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2008, 10:51 PM
Diabolik
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Phishing Attempt To Watch Out For...

I was sent a link on my MSN from one of my chat contacts that had my MSN ID included in the url and I'm trying to figure out how this scam works...

The site is imglists.com and all that's on the front is CPA offer that rotates.

The link I was sent looked like this...

hXXp://yourmsnhandle.imglists.com

It's a landing page that has a login and at the top it says "Pics For MSN Friends" and you're supposed to use your MSN password to gain access.

My friend said he didn't send anything, but he got a similar link from one of his contacts with his MSN ID included...and he logged in thinking it was real.

So what's happening here behind the scenes? Does it steal your password and contact your friends from the server or does it infect your computer somehow and send to all your friends?

How does it make money?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Make Money!

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2008, 01:25 AM
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 573
Reputation: 12
bhnoobz is on a distinguished road
Thanks: 5
Thanked 124 Times in 88 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Default Re: Phishing Attempt To Watch Out For...

lol.
it doesn't steal your password, it relies on you to enter it. if you're dumb enough to enter it , it probably logs in with your msn ID to the chat servers and spams your contacts.. since msn ids = hotmail/msn addresses, there's lots of reasons for them to grab it. they could be spamming, they could be harvesting contact emails to spam, or they could be looking for all kinds of infoz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2008, 12:04 PM
Entrepreneur's Avatar
Jr. VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 304
Reputation: 25
Entrepreneur is on a distinguished road
Thanks: 54
Thanked 116 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Default Re: Phishing Attempt To Watch Out For...

There's a similar one doing the rounds on Facebook at the moment. It's hosted on imagehost as an swf which redirects to a fake Facebook looking URL. Here's the link.

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/909/fbdr4.swf

I quite admired this one, as it's super viral. Once they get your details, by being an idiot and entering login details, it logs into your account and posts a message to all your friends saying, "I just found this blog with some really horrible pictures about you. You gotta check this out." then it shows the above link.

The rest is self explanatory.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2008, 10:45 PM
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 573
Reputation: 12
bhnoobz is on a distinguished road
Thanks: 5
Thanked 124 Times in 88 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Default Re: Phishing Attempt To Watch Out For...

why not report that to imageshack? heh.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump






Sitemap: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65