Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

 

Results 1 to 29 of 29
Hi, Does anybody know if it is illegal to sell fake online reviews? I have ...
  1. #1
    This Web Guy's Avatar
    This Web Guy is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Hi,

    Does anybody know if it is illegal to sell fake online reviews?

    I have heard about companies getting fined for posting / buying fake reviews, but can the seller actually get in trouble? If so then why does Fiverr allow you to post review gigs, I mean there is a whole section dedicated to them!

    If it is illegal what I have in mind is putting in my T&C's that all the reviews we post will be taken from other review sites for example:

    If you have reviews on Amazon we will copy these and put them onto Review Centre.

    Any advice would be appreciated!

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to This Web Guy For This Useful Post:

    W9go (01-24-2014)




  3. #2
    W9go's Avatar
    W9go is offline Elite Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    www.myhome.com
    Posts
    1,738
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 348 Times in 255 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    I Know seo argency with plenty of employes just Doing that. Mainly Hotels and Amazon. Its a Bad World........

  4. #3
    fxphil's Avatar
    fxphil is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 371 Times in 202 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    I do believe if the reviews are negative you are breaking laws in the USa.

    Slander: the action or crime of making a false spoken statement damaging to a person's reputation.

    In the USA companies are granted many of the same rights as citizens.


    Good Luck- Chances of getting caught slim

    (Not a lawyer- slim could still mean possible)
    (Black Hat is Blackhat try using Grey HAT for this stuff )

  5. #4
    termi is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    If you don’t say anything negative abut some one or some company it is probably legal. No one can punish you for good review even if it is fake

  6. #5
    AlreadyBanned is offline Banned - see signature
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Under The Hood
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    244
    Thanked 133 Times in 119 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    If not illegal, it's immoral.
    This member has been permanently banned from BHW.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to AlreadyBanned For This Useful Post:

    UnoUltimo (01-27-2014)

  8. #6
    tony_d's Avatar
    tony_d is offline Only fish where few go.
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View CA
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks
    1,115
    Thanked 1,330 Times in 667 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Perhaps the real question you were getting at is; "if I sell fake reviews, what bad shit can happen to me?", to which I would say "not much, maybe a nasty email or two".

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tony_d For This Useful Post:

    The SEO (01-24-2014), W130SN (01-24-2014)

  10. #7
    Panther28's Avatar
    Panther28 is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Internet.
    Posts
    1,709
    Thanks
    2,243
    Thanked 2,414 Times in 1,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    147

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    There have been less than a handful of prosecuted companies/individuals doing this. The risk is there, yet small, but the scale of doing it will determine this.

  11. #8
    AquaticGamer's Avatar
    AquaticGamer is offline ☆ SociableAuthority.com ☆
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    ☆☆ BHW ☆☆
    Posts
    2,602
    Thanks
    272
    Thanked 1,017 Times in 717 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    It's not really illegal since there are so many people doing it..
    [1LINKLIST.COM] - ★MILLIONS of fresh urls, EVERY DAY★ - GSA Ser Goes to warp 9
    SIGNATURE SPACE - THIS TWO LINE FOR SALE! PM ME IF INTERESTED


  12. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Fake Review Not Problem But Need Different Different IP For Work

  13. #10
    fxphil's Avatar
    fxphil is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 371 Times in 202 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    What logic is this??

    Quote Originally Posted by AquaticGamer View Post
    It's not really illegal since there are so many people doing it..
    stupid-people-jokes.jpg

  14. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fxphil For This Useful Post:

    spartangreen (01-25-2014), W130SN (01-24-2014)

  15. #11
    archixet's Avatar
    archixet is offline A proven entrepreneur
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    721
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 91 Times in 60 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Its not illegal but it's not moral

  16. #12
    seocrab's Avatar
    seocrab is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    969
    Thanks
    698
    Thanked 772 Times in 299 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Slander is illegal so if you're leaving negative feedback and lying in the process then yes it's immoral and illegal.

    If, however, someone offers you a product in exchange for a review (much like what happens in the sales threads on here) then there's nothing wrong with that, provided the review is honest and fair.

  17. #13
    tony_d's Avatar
    tony_d is offline Only fish where few go.
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View CA
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks
    1,115
    Thanked 1,330 Times in 667 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Quote Originally Posted by AquaticGamer View Post
    It's not really illegal since there are so many people doing it..
    While the legality of something in fact DOES come down to popular consensus (in any democratic country), it's not sufficient just to have a whole bunch of people doing something illegal in order to make it legal. It takes legislation, which takes elected officials, who take popularity to get elected So unless you plan to directly influence the creation/removal of a law or modification of a criminal code, 'many people' doing something isn't going to cut it.

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to tony_d For This Useful Post:

    W130SN (01-24-2014)

  19. #14
    prab1996's Avatar
    prab1996 is online now Prab1996.com
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Prab1996.com
    Posts
    3,169
    Thanks
    2,769
    Thanked 1,651 Times in 1,065 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    make a policy page and write a big 2k words post.

    in middle of it write "we will buy product and send it to some random people and they will post a honest review in return"
    also add this "we not provide any type of info about the person who will review your product , it will violate the right to privacy"

    i use "likes are provided using facebook's advertising program"

    they can never get you down.
    -=-

  20. #15
    Extropy's Avatar
    Extropy is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    428
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 160 Times in 79 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Quote Originally Posted by This Web Guy View Post
    Hi,

    Does anybody know if it is illegal to sell fake online reviews?

    I have heard about companies getting fined for posting / buying fake reviews, but can the seller actually get in trouble? If so then why does Fiverr allow you to post review gigs, I mean there is a whole section dedicated to them!

    If it is illegal what I have in mind is putting in my T&C's that all the reviews we post will be taken from other review sites for example:

    If you have reviews on Amazon we will copy these and put them onto Review Centre.

    Any advice would be appreciated!

    I owned Glowing Reviews, which was sued by Edmunds last year for posting "fake reviews", so I can answer with first hand info. (Just google 'glowing reviews edmunds')

    Each country will have different laws, so I'll answer with the US version. You need to read the FTC guidelines for testimonials(reviews) in advertising:
    http://www.ftc.gov/sites/default/fil...mentguides.pdf

    After consulting with attorneys, they believed that as long as a review could be tracked back to an individual it was ok. So, for example, if you collected reviews via comment card, phone call, and email and had a way to get back in touch with the customer, it would be ok to post.

    At the same time, each site that allows you to post reviews (such as Amazon in your case or Edmunds in mine) has TOS that you're supposed to follow. At every site you'll find they require that the person posting the review is the actual person who experienced the service. So if you post on behalf of someone else, you'll be violating the TOS.

    I expected if any site ever got angry about me posting REAL reviews under my accounts, I'd get a C&D letter. I was wrong and got sued.

    Someone else in this thread mentioned that it's ok because everyone else does it. Well, good luck with that strategy. Lots of people do this, but do you always want to live wondering when you get the call from Wall Street Journal letting you know you were sued and what your comment is?

    I can give more examples of legal issues causing headaches (twitter bots a couple of years ago, Yelp suing fake review posters, etc), but suffice it to say it's probably better to find a better way to get your reviews up.

    One more thing... If you incent the reviews in any way (Ie - leave a review on Amazon and you'll get 25% off your next order), according to the FTC PDF I linked, they need to say that they are a paid endorser in their review. I'd expect to get sued less often by the FTC for "forgetting this" or doing it on a small scale, but if they decide to make an example of someone look out...
    OneHourIndexing.co - FAST indexing of your backlinks. Don't just ping...
    DripFeedLinks.co - Scheduled link building, 6 different link types.

  21. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Extropy For This Useful Post:

    fxphil (01-24-2014), ORM (04-22-2014), This Web Guy (01-27-2014)

  22. #16
    archixet's Avatar
    archixet is offline A proven entrepreneur
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    721
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 91 Times in 60 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Even if it a good review and not negative review.. if it is not true then it can b illegal..
    For example giving positive review abt a hotel in Trip Advisor site, and someone looking at the review books the hotel, come to know that the review was a fake good review.. it may b illegal and unethical...

  23. #17
    fxphil's Avatar
    fxphil is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 371 Times in 202 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    MY guess is he was trying to do things legit and make a great business and there for used real contact information. Anyways he learned a lesson for all of us here so PROPS 4 Extropy!!

  24. #18
    bughumm is offline Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Fake review seems not good, yes I totally agree. However, I think above 50% of review in the internet are fake.

  25. #19
    bughumm is offline Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Quote Originally Posted by SpiderBlast View Post
    Fake reviews are the best thing that can happen to a business. If they are done properly and written properly.

    I've spent A LOT of money on fake reviews so I can speak from experience. They are one of the easiest ways to explode your ROI. You get much better conversions = more traffic = a lot more $$$.
    Can you suggest me on this? I will give it a try.

  26. #20
    funkybunker's Avatar
    funkybunker is offline I love you
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Your Chair
    Posts
    1,142
    Thanks
    1,629
    Thanked 1,531 Times in 715 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    When you research the data backing Online Rep Management, even a moron can see the effect Reviews have on conversions. Whether you go about it by personally approaching leads or faking them, there is a reason the biggest companies in the world use them.
    If you've ever scrolled down the screen to read comments, testimonials and opinions...you're under it's spell too.

  27. #21
    rabbitking's Avatar
    rabbitking is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    IRC
    Posts
    1,175
    Thanks
    1,317
    Thanked 1,273 Times in 562 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Quote Originally Posted by funkybunker View Post
    When you research the data backing Online Rep Management, even a moron can see the effect Reviews have on conversions. Whether you go about it by personally approaching leads or faking them, there is a reason the biggest companies in the world use them.
    If you've ever scrolled down the screen to read comments, testimonials and opinions...you're under it's spell too.
    You are correct because I read over 60% of people buy based on reviews and it is critical to have them
    if you are selling a product or service.

    -RK

  28. #22
    Matt707's Avatar
    Matt707 is offline Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    322
    Thanked 71 Times in 24 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Unlike most things that are "wrong" in internet marketing just being against a website's terms of service or etc, fake reviews are literally illegal in most senses.

  29. #23
    This Web Guy's Avatar
    This Web Guy is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Quote Originally Posted by SpiderBlast View Post
    You were the owner of Glowing Reviews?

    Well first let me say, thank you for your service because while it was around I made a lot of money thanks to you. And I'm sorry that you got sued but your considered a legend in my books. And I hope things aren't too bad for you right now.

    I'll be honest though, I don't understand why you didn't do everything fully anonymous? Like I don't understand how torrent sites get away with what they do but we can't have 1 safe, fully anonymous review site?

    Would it really have been that hard to make yourself / your service anonymous? That way if people want to sue you they can't find out who the hell you are? Theres got to be a way to do it safely. Look at how long silkroad was around before feds were able to penetrate it. And even now, they still haven't been taken down. There are people selling drugs and guns online and they've been getting away with it for years.

    So a person should absolutely be capable of running a fake review operation... if its set up the right way.

    And I think someday someone is going to capitalize on this the proper way. Maybe they'll use a different form of currency, but people needs reviews. There is a high demand for them. All we need is a more sophisticated operation who knows how to evade authorities and lawyers. If silkroad can do it, torrent sites, etc etc, someone can certainly do it for the purpose of fake reviews.
    The only way to be truly anonymous would be to always use a proxy which is easy, buy the domain and hosting under a proxy and with a fake name which again is easy.

    The hardest part is payment, PayPal is easily tracked as is Sage and all of the other payment processors. The only option if you never wanted to be found would be to use Bitcoins, this is ok since I use bitcoins but most businesses owners do not, and it would most likely be far to much hassle for them to get some to bother.

  30. #24
    rabbitking's Avatar
    rabbitking is offline Jr. VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    IRC
    Posts
    1,175
    Thanks
    1,317
    Thanked 1,273 Times in 562 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Quote Originally Posted by This Web Guy View Post
    The only way to be truly anonymous would be to always use a proxy which is easy, buy the domain and hosting under a proxy and with a fake name which again is easy.

    The hardest part is payment, PayPal is easily tracked as is Sage and all of the other payment processors. The only option if you never wanted to be found would be to use Bitcoins, this is ok since I use bitcoins but most businesses owners do not, and it would most likely be far to much hassle for them to get some to bother.
    Anonymity through a proxy is only as anonymous as the proxy company knows about you.

    -RK

  31. #25
    ardley216's Avatar
    ardley216 is offline BHW's #1 Keyword Expert!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    630,000,000 Keywords Researched & Counting
    Posts
    2,210
    Thanks
    977
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 636 Posts

    Default Re: Selling Fake Reviews Online - Illegal?

    Selling fake reviews to lazy ORM'ers is not illegal, but using fake reviews for your clients is. There have been cases in the UK where companies have been sued for faking reviews.
    ATTENTION: Interested in making $$$$ a month? I sell the EASIEST keywords on BHW.
    I have analysed 650,000,000 keywords. 400+ sales. 350+ EPIC reviews.
    My research is used in a London University. Take a look here.


Similar Threads

  1. Fake reviews are ILLEGAL.
    By CosmicSoundz in forum Black Hat SEO
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11-26-2013, 02:56 PM
  2. FINED $350,000 = Fake Online Reviews (READ)
    By CoyoteAssassin in forum Black Hat SEO
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 09-30-2013, 05:24 AM
  3. 6% of Online Reviews are Fake
    By AndyPR in forum Black Hat SEO
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 09-12-2013, 09:06 PM
  4. Is it illegal to post fake reviews?
    By theindiaphile in forum Black Hat SEO
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 09-23-2011, 10:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




BlackHatWorld on Twitter BlackHatWorld on FaceBook


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109